Mountain and Squirrel

The Mountain and The Squirrel

The mountain and the squirrel

Had a quarrel,

And the former called the latter “Little prig”

Bun replied,

“You are doubtless very big;

But all sorts of things and weather

Must be taken in together

To make up a year

And a sphere

And I think it no disgrace

To occupy my place

If I’m not so large as you,

You are not so small as I,

And not half so spry:

I’ll not deny you make

A very pretty squirrel track

Talents differ; all is well and wisely put;

If I cannot carry forest on my back,

Neither can you crack a nut.

– Ralph Waldo Emerson

We all have a life and what you are is what I am not and there is conflict of I am not what you are. And so I aspire to be like you as big as you. As ideally I see you. And then you meet me in my eyes and I cannot look myself anymore, just you in image of me. And then lost, I search and find where self is. You are doing it so pretty well but why I cannot do it. I am not made for it. I am not what you are. When will I realize this? “Talents differ, all is well and wisely put. If I cannot carry forest on the back. Neither can you crack a nut.”

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

